The 2020 Tom Hendry Awards Shortlisted Play Collection


Regular price $30.00
The 2020 Tom Hendry Awards Shortlisted Play Collection

This collection contains plays shortlisted for the 2020 Tom Hendry Awards. Find a list of all of the nominees here.

The Tom Hendry Awards, named for a beloved founding member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada, took place online, with ceremonies from October 25, 2020 to October 30, 2020.

Please note: the scripts appear as they were submitted to the Tom Hendry Awards in 2020! If you require an updated script for a production or other purpose, please contact PGC or the playwright. Click the play titles to find the play's description, and to see it available for sale as a single script.

This collection contains the following scripts:

Carol Bolt Award

This is How We Got Here by Keith Barker

Room by Emma Donoghue

From Alaska by Sébastien Harrisson, translated by Leanna Brodie

Playwrights Guild Comedy Award

Siberian Summer by Paul Van Dyck

Pinkerton Comes to Prospect by Jamie Williams

RBC Emerging Playwright Award

Harun by Makram Ayache

Twentysomething by Megs Calleja

Eva in Rio by Gabe Maharjan

Robert Beardsley Award

Tragedy: A Comedy by Audrey Krieger-Pottruff

I'll Miss You a Little by Micaela Robertson

Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award

A Year in the Stars and Rain by Jared Mallard


The following plays, which were nominated in categories in the Tom Hendry Awards in 2020, are not included in this collection.

Musical Award

Kelly v. Kelly by Sara Farb, Music & Lyrics by Britta Johnson

Grow: A New Musical by Matt Murray Music & Lyrics by Colleen Dauncey & Akiva Romer-Segal

Keaton and the Whale by Molly Reisman, (Book & Lyrics) & Emily Chiu (Book & Music)

Comedy Award

The Shoe by David Paquet, translated by Leanna Brodie

Robert Beardsley Award

CAEZUS by Nam Nguyen, music by Maks Chupov

Sharon Enkin Plays for Young People Award

Bent Boy by Herbert Barnes

#IAMTHECHEESE by Josh MacDonald


Looking for more?

 Find the collection from 2019 here, and from 2018 here!